Problem management according to ITIL – Example & advantages

Structured and interactive problem management with EcholoN

Problem management without problems

The permanent availability of services and a consistently high service quality are decisive for customer satisfaction. This applies to both external and internal customers. Good problem management must therefore be flexible enough to map several perspectives when identifying and defining potential problems.

Problem management according to ITIL deals with the causes of actual or potential disruptions (incidents) in all areas of IT services - and of course with their elimination. Problem management is about reacting correctly when a problem occurs, as well as proactively solving and avoiding problems. After all, problems should not only be solved once or temporarily, but permanently and sustainably. This requires transparency in terms of processes and resources, but it is also important to secure knowledge about known causes of problems.

Example Process for Proactive Problem Management
  • Network monitoring 1

    Via SNMP traps or via direct coupling of all common monitoring tools (PRTG, Nagios etc.).

  • Evaluation Incident Reports 2

    Real-time reports and trend analyses provide information on all influences of system operation.

  • Categorisation 3

    A problem is generated automatically or by the Problem Manager.

  • Analysis 4

    The problem can be analysed in detail with the help of EcholoN. Effects on the infrastructure can be immediately recognised and evaluated.

  • Solution 5

    Problem Management initiates a Request for Change to solve the problem.

Problem Management with EcholoN

EcholoN serves standardised process models such as ITIL through "out of the box" process templates. This helps to optimally support the business processes and continuously improve their quality. For this purpose, all processes are defined and managed in a structured and precise manner according to ITIL. This works intuitively and with just a few clicks. Well thought-out standard process templates are also available for numerous processes such as problem reporting, incidents, etc.

This is how EcholoN supports you in problem management

Ticket system with knowledge database

The ticket system can be installed and used particularly quickly. This means it is also available and ready for use at short notice. It enables the use of different channels (e.g. telephone, chat or mail), whereby the caller can be identified directly. A simple, logically structured dialogue ensures that all relevant information is recorded. For this purpose, a knowledge database with an easy-to-use search function is available in EcholoN. The data collection is continuously expanded and the problem solutions are saved centrally. Thus they are well protected and can be retrieved again and again.

Quality management

In order to identify and solve problems quickly, you need clear structures and delineated responsibilities. With EcholoN's quality management, processes and procedures can be displayed graphically and thus made immediately transparent. Internal and external links and responsibilities can be integrated, as can opportunity and risk analyses or feedback from customers, suppliers and employees.

Service Desk

The service desk is used for both incoming and outgoing communication with the customer. Above all, it is used to record customer enquiries. For this purpose, EcholoN offers a structured process entry that optimally supports the service desk employee in recording. The data can then be evaluated in dynamic reports, which can also be individually created and customised.

Modular design, flexible use

With EcholoN you individualise your problem management with various extensions and modules. You can integrate new functions, processes and connections such as new business areas or customer groups and benefit from the many advantages of holistic service management.

The following advantages are offered by the use of EcholoN in problem management:

  • Proactive problem management to prevent incidents and increase the availability of IT services
  • Clear presentation of all connections for an effective problem analysis
  • The number and effects of known errors can be evaluated and thus serve as a decision criterion for the acquisition of, for example, new IT components
  • Increase the initial solution rate by providing solutions in a knowledgebase

Problem Management nach ITIL – Beispiel & Vorteile

Strukturiertes und interaktives Problem Management mit EcholoN

Problem Management ohne Probleme

Die dauerhafte Verfügbarkeit von Services und eine durchgehend hohe Servicequalität sind maßgeblich für die Kundenzufriedenheit. Das gilt sowohl für externe als auch für interne Kunden. Ein gutes Problem Management muss daher flexibel genug sein, um bei der Ermittlung und Definition potenzieller Probleme mehrere Perspektiven abzubilden.

Das Problem Management nach ITIL beschäftigt sich mit den Ursachen tatsächlicher oder möglicher Störungen (Incidents) in allen Bereichen der IT-Services - und natürlich mit deren Behebung. Dabei geht es im Problem Management sowohl darum, bei einem auftretenden Problem richtig zu reagieren, als auch um die proaktive Problemlösung und -vermeidung. Denn Probleme sollen nicht nur einmalig oder zeitweise, sondern dauerhaft und nachhaltig gelöst werden. Hierfür ist Transparenz in Bezug auf die Prozesse und Ressourcen notwendig, doch auch die Sicherung von Wissen über bekannte Problemursachen ist wichtig.

Beispielprozess für proaktives Problem Management
  • Netzwerküberwachung 1

    Über SNMP-Traps oder via direkter Kopplung aller gängigen Monitoring-Tools (PRTG, Nagios etc.).

  • Auswertung Incident Reports 2

    Echtzeitreports und Trendanalysen liefern Information über alle Einflüsse des Systembetriebes.

  • Kategorisierung 3

    Ein Problem wird automatisch oder durch den Problem Manager generiert.

  • Analyse 4

    Das Problem kan mit Hilfe von EcholoN genauestens analysiert werden. Auswirkungen auf die Infrastruktur lassen sich sofort erkennen und bewerten.

  • Lösung 5

    Das Problem Management initiiert einen Request for Change zur Lösung des Problems.

Problem Management mit EcholoN

EcholoN bedient standardisierte Vorgehensmodelle wie ITIL durch „out of the box“ Prozessvorlagen. Das trägt dazu bei, die Geschäftsprozesse optimal zu unterstützen und deren Qualität kontinuierlich zu verbessern. Dazu werden alle Prozesse strukturiert und präzise nach ITIL definiert und verwaltet. Das funktioniert ganz intuitiv und mit wenigen Klicks. Für zahlreiche Prozesse wie Problemmeldung, Incident etc. stehen außerdem gut durchdachte Standard Prozessvorlagen zur Verfügung.

So unterstützt Sie EcholoN beim Problem Management

Ticket System mit Wissensdatenbank

Das Ticket System lässt sich besonders schnell installieren und nutzen. Damit ist es auch kurzfristig verfügbar und einsatzbereit. Es ermöglicht die Nutzung verschiedener Kanäle (z. B. Telefon, Chat oder Mail), wobei der Anrufer direkt identifiziert werden kann. Ein einfacher, logisch aufgebauter Dialog stellt sicher, dass alle relevanten Informationen erfasst werden. Dazu steht in EcholoN eine Wissensdatenbank mit einer einfach zu bedienenden Suchfunktion zur Verfügung. Die Datensammlung wird kontinuierlich erweitert, und die Problemlösungen werden zentral gesichert. So sind sie gut geschützt und lassen sich immer wieder abrufen.

Qualitätsmanagement

Um Probleme schnell zu identifizieren und zu lösen, brauchen Sie klare Strukturen und abgegrenzte Verantwortlichkeiten. Mit dem Qualitätsmanagement von EcholoN können Prozesse und Abläufe grafisch dargestellt und damit sofort transparent gemacht werden. Interne wie externe Verknüpfungen und Verantwortlichkeiten lassen sich integrieren, ebenso Chancen- und Risikoanalysen oder Feedback von Kunden, Lieferanten und Mitarbeitern.

Service Desk

Das Service Desk wird für die ein- wie ausgehende Kommunikation mit dem Kunden verwendet. Vor allem dient es der Aufnahme von Kundenanfragen. EcholoN bietet hierfür eine strukturierte Vorgangserfassung, die den Mitarbeiter im Service Desk optimal bei der Erfassung unterstützt. Die Daten lassen sich dann in dynamischen Reports auswerten, die zudem individuell erstellt und angepasst werden können.

Modular aufgebaut, flexibel einzusetzen

Mit EcholoN individualisieren Sie Ihr Problem Management mit verschiedenen Erweiterungen und Modulen. Sie können neue Funktionen, Prozesse und Verbindungen wie beispielsweise neue Geschäftsbereiche oder Kundengruppen integrieren und profitieren von den vielen Vorteilen eines ganzheitlichen Service Managements.

Folgende Vorteile bietet der Einsatz von EcholoN im Problem Management:

  • Proaktives Problem-Management: Sie vermeiden Incidents und erhöhen dauerhaft die Verfügbarkeit Ihrer IT-Services und die Kundenzufriedenheit.
  • Übersichtliche Darstellung aller Zusammenhänge für eine effektive Problem-Analyse
  •  Mehr schnelle Lösungen: Durch die Nutzung der mitwachsenden Wissensdatenbank gibt es immer mehr rasche Lösungen beim ersten Kontakt mit der Serviceabteilung.
  • Besser lernen: Bekannte Fehler lassen sich quantitativ (Anzahl, Häufigkeit) und qualitativ (Auswirkung) auswerten. So können Unternehmen zeit- und personenunabhängig aus ihren Fehlern lernen.